The Essential CD's and My Personal Top 10

Of course, there are a very large number of great Who songs. For various (and sometimes unknown to me) reasons, here are my ten favorite Who songs, in order of preference:

  1. Rael

  2. Pure and Easy

  3. They Are All In Love

  4. Pictures of Lily

  5. So Sad About Us

  6. I Can't Explain

  7. Baba O'Riley

  8. Sparks

  9. Early Morning Cold Taxi

  10. I'm a Boy

Honorable Mention (in no particular order):

  1. Jaguar

  2. Won't Get Fooled Again

  3. A Quick One While He's Away

  4. Song Is Over

  5. Tattoo

  6. Dogs

  7. Heaven and Hell

  8. Anytime You Want Me

  9. I Can See For Miles

  10. Magic Bus

Songs that a lot of people think are great that I'm not that crazy about:

Naked Eye
Eminence Front
Dreaming From the Waist
Who Are You

One of the greatest rock songs ever that isn't on the above lists for some reason:

My Generation

If I was just starting a Who collection or didn't know anything about the group but wanted to hear some of their best, here is where I would start:


Who's Next (1971) - I consider this the best rock & roll album ever made containing one of the best rock songs ever recorded - Won't Get Fooled Again.

The original album had the following track listing:

1. Baba O'Riley
2. Bargain
3. Love Ain't For Keeping
4. My Wife
5. The Song Is Over
6. Getting In Tune
7. Going Mobile
8. Behind Blue Eyes
9. Won't Get Fooled Again

The above link will take you to the new Deluxe Edition, with the original album taken from the original master tapes, six songs recorded at the record plant in New York City and a number of tracks from the famous concert at the Young Vic Theatre on April 26, 1971. with the following song list:


Live at Leeds (1970) - this has been called the greatest live album ever made. I would have to agree. The original album had the following track listing:

1. Young Man Blues
2. Substitute
3. Summertime Blues
4. Shakin' All Over
5. My Generation
6. Magic Bus

However, the original song lineup is no longer available and the above link will take you to the remaster with the following song list:

1. Heaven And Hell - (previously unreleased)
2. I Can't Explain - (previously unreleased)
3. Fortune Teller - (previously unreleased)
4. Tattoo - (previously unreleased)
5. Young Man Blues
6. Substitute
7. Happy Jack - (previously unreleased)

8. I'm A Boy - (previously unreleased)
9. A Quick One While He's Away - (previously unreleased)
10. Amazing Journey/Sparks - (previously unreleased)
11. Summertime Blues
12. Shakin' All Over
13. My Generation
14. Magic Bus

#3, #4, #5 - I'm still thinking about these. Probably from the following - Sell Out, Quadrophenia, Tommy, Meaty Beaty Big and Bouncy, Happy Jack.

Click here to return to my home page.